The Voice of Chandigarh News | Travel Trade Reporter

ETAA recently held its AGM at Jade Garden, Worli, Mumbai. AGM was followed by ETAA’s 20th year celebration. The Association was started in 1998 by few veterans of the Industry. The main purpose of the association was to create a platform for Non-IATA agents to network amongst themselves. Today ETAA is one of the largest Non-IATA travel Agents association.

The event was attended by 120 travel agents from Maharashtra & Gujarat. Whereas the post celebration was attended by various Airlines, Hotels & Tourism boards. The total presence was 150 delegates.

Meghna Gautam (Chairperson Mumbai Committee), started the proceedings of the AGM by thanking the members who came in huge number and by invited the Board of Directors on the Dais i.e. Carl Dantas (Chairman Emeritus), Jagat Mehta (President), Abhijit Khadilkar (National General Secretary), Dipti Thakoor (National Joint Secretary), Dharmesh Advani (Treasurer), M P Joy (South Chapter Chairman), Sangeeta Manocha (North Chapter Chairman), Santosh Khawle (West Chapter Chairman) & Koushik Banerjee (East Chapter Chairman).

The meeting began with Mr. Khadelkar reading the notice and the Agenda. All points were passed in the AGM unanimously.

Mr. Mehta was then invited to the podium. Mr. Mehta thanked the members for attending in large number, the Board members & Mumbai Committee i.e. Ms. Meghana Gautam (Chairperson Mumbai Committee), Gaurang Nayak (Chairman Events), Nikhil Pargaonkar (Vice-Chairman) & Rohan Shah (Secretary) for the arrangements.

Mr. Mehta informed the gathering that it was an honor for him & the current board members to follow the vision of Mr. Carl Dantas who was the founder member of ETAA. The association when started in 1998 had 30 members and now had touched 800+ active members on Pan India basis.

Mr. Mehta informed the gathering that ETAA last year had organized 21 knowledge sessions on Pan India basis for its members.

Mr. Mehta, also mentioned about the recently concluded knowledge session in Ahmedabad & Surat in association with SATTE & Travcare. The event received an overwhelming response thanks to our ETAA Co-Convener Mr. Ranjeet Shrivastava & Western Chapter Team.

Mr. Mehta then read out the committee in each region. He also acknowledges the presence of few committee members who had come from Delhi & Pune specially to attend the AGM.

Mr. Mehta also acknowledged the efforts put by Mr. M P Joy & his South India Committee who collected funds for Kerala Relief. Mr. Mehta concluded his speech by informing the gathering about the upcoming events in Chennai, Jaipur, Cochin, Delhi, Pune & Mumbai.

Mr. Mehta then invited Mr. Carl Dantas to the Dais to say a few words.

Mr. Dantas was overwhelmed by the attendance and encouraged the gathering to attend all future ETAA events in large numbers.

Mr. Dantas then informed the members that it’s important to do networking with each other, as this will help them & ETAA to grow.

He further explained the importance of the members travelling themselves, as this would give them the right exposure & in return they could share their experiences with their clients.

He also urged the members to call themselves Travel Consultants rather than Travel Agents.

Mr. Dantas also informed the gathering about the importance of keeping good relations with the Airlines, Hotels & the Tourism Boards.

The AGM ended with a Vote of Thanks by Mr. Abhijit Khadilkar.

Later in the evening Mr. Dantas invited the dignitaries from Airlines, Hotel & Tourism Boards on the Dais for a formal introduction.


Mr. Carl Dantas, Amala Dantas & Shripad Deshpande (Ex- Chapter Chairman of West) were invited on the Dais to cut the cake and pop a champagne to celebrate 20 years of ETAA.


Mr. Rajendra Singh from Rajasthan Routes Trails & Mr. Sunil Pal from Kuwait Airways gave away 1 Free Ticket on Kuwait Airways. Mr. Raj Chaudhari from Wanderlust Travel Hub was invited on the Dais to give away the lucky draw prices for 2 Nights stay at Samsara Resorts, Corbett.

The Night ended with Cocktail & Dinner.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.