India Round of Sarin Memorial Moot Court competition held

TVC Logo

India Round of Sarin Memorial Moot Court competition held

Three teams of law schools from Jodhpur, Patiala and Mohali, qualify for the finals at Seoul in Korea

The Voice of Chandigarh News | Photos T S Bedi

(L-R) Justice Surya Kant, Justice (retd SS Sodhi, and M L Sarin, General Secretary, Sarin Memorial Legal Aid Foundation-1

Justice Surya Kant of Punjab and Haryana High Court inaugurated the AIL – Sarin National India Rounds of the 9th Leiden-Sarin International Air Law Moot Court Competition to the Army Institute of Law, Mohali

Justice Surya Kant-1

Mr. Justice Surya Kant, appreciated the efforts of the Sarin Memorial Legal Aid Foundation and Leiden University in drawing up a wonderful proposition, on air law, which raised legal issues concerning countries and people around the globe.

He said that the legal profession is one of the most respected and participation in the moot court competition can only help the students become better lawyers.

Eighteen teams from the top law schools of the country participated in these national finals, which was judged by 30 different judges, including seven Judges of the High Court including Justice AG Masih, Justice RN Raina, Justice GS Sandhawalia, Justice BS Walia, Justice Amit Rawal, Justice Deepak Sibal and Justice Sudhir Mittal.

The three teams selected in the India round are National Law University, Jodhpur; Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Patiala, and Army Institute of Law, Mohali.

The three teams selected in the national round would compete in Seoul with teams from 20 countries, including Nepal, USA, Pakistan, Indonesia, China, the Netherlands, Canada, Ukraine, New Zealand, Romania, Sri Lanka, Nigeria, Serbia, Poland, the UAE, Singapore, Greece, South Korea and France.

Former Chief Justice of Allahabad High Court, Justice (retd) S.S.Sodhi, who is also the President of the Sarin Memorial Legal Aid Foundation, said that this is the only one such competition on air laws in the world which is the result of the collaboration between Sarin Foundation and the Leiden University, the Netherlands.

Nitin Sarin, who is also an air law specialist, stated that this field of law is very pertinent in the Indian context because of the booming aviation market which is slated to be the largest in the world by 2030.

Nitin Sarin informed that the first eight editions of this international competition were held around the world beginning within New Delhi in 2010, Dubai 2011, Istanbul 2012, Abu Dhabi in 2013, Bucharest Romania in 2014; Beijing, China in 2015, Jakarta, Indonesia in  2016 and Malta in April 2017.

Sarin Foundation launches Best Mooter of the Year Award with a corpus of Rs.5 lakh

Winners of Best Mooters Award

Two students of the Army Institute of Law received the first Sarin Foundation Best Mooters Award here today during the inauguration of the 9th Leiden Sarin International Air Law Moot Court Competition.

Mr. Justice Surya Kant of Punjab and Haryana High Court gave away the Awards comprising of Rs.25,000 each to Aafreen Choudhary, and Adhiraj Bhandari.

Secretary General of the Foundation Mr. M.L. Sarin Sarin Memorial Legal Aid Foundation announced the formation of a corpus of Rs.5 lakh and each year, the Foundation shall be giving away the Best Mooters of the Year Award.

ccc new

Share this:
No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.